Episode 26: Sphinx by Anne Garreta

Introduction

IMG-3944.JPG

In episode 26 we discuss Anne Garreta’s Sphinx.

Published in 1986 in France before being translated in 2015 into English, Sphinx is the tale of two lovers in Paris. The narrator, a scholar turned DJ and A*** a dancer. The plot is straightforward enough, two people meet, the fall in love, there is a tragic ending. What makes Sphinx more compelling is the linguistic constraint that slowly reveals itself in the English translation and is confirmed in the translators note, for Sphinx is genderless.

Episode 25: Imperfect by Lee Kofman

Introduction

Literary Canon Ball Lee Kofman Imperfect

In episode 25 we discuss Lee Kofman’s Imperfect. A blend of memoir and cultural critique, Kofman’s Imperfect, which in a neat trick of typography could also read as I’m Perfect, considers our conceptions of physical perfection and asks what it means to live in a body that differs from the norm.

Thanks to Affirm Press and Lee for sending us these copies Imperfect.

Episode 24: This Little Art by Kate Briggs

Introduction

EPISODE (3).jpg

In episode twenty-four, we discuss This Little Art by Kate Briggs.

What is it to translate another writer’s words? What is to consume a translation? Taking as her starting point her own translations work, Briggs explores these questions and so much more in her genre-bending novel length essay This Little Art.

Witty and thoughtful and with as many questions as answers, This Little Art is an original and layered discussion of the art of translation and perhaps of what it means to read and to write, too.

Show Notes

Kate Briggs’s This Little Art by Carlos Fonseca: https://bombmagazine.org/articles/kate-briggss-this-little-art/

Kate Briggs, “This Little Art”: https://translationista.com/2018/07/kate-briggs-this-little-art.html

Did He Really Say That? On the Perils and Pitfalls of Translation: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/28/books/review/kate-briggs-this-little-art.html

How Do We Judge Translations?: https://lithub.com/how-do-we-judge-translations/

WAITING TRANSLATIONS: A CONVERSATION WITH KATE BRIGGS: http://www.musicandliterature.org/features/2017/11/20/a-conversation-with-kate-briggs

Why Translation Deserves Scrutiny: https://www.nybooks.com/daily/2018/10/23/why-translation-deserves-scrutiny/

Changing, Adjusting, Expanding: Conversation On The Art Of Translation With Author & Translator Kate Briggs: https://www.bookculture.com/blog/2018/08/21/changing-adjusting-expanding-conversation-art-translation-author-translator-kate

Recommendations:

Fi:

The First Time Podcast: https://thefirsttimepodcast.com/

Total Eclipse by Annie Dillard

Neve:

Princess Cyd: https://www.netflix.com/au/title/80201497

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin: https://www.booktopia.com.au/ayesha-at-last-uzma-jalaluddin/prod9781443455848.html

Mrs Martin's Incomparable Adventure by Courtney Milan: https://www.amazon.com.au/Mrs-Martins-Incomparable-Adventure-Worth-ebook/dp/B07P4DPLX7

Can't Escape Love by Alyssa Cole: https://www.booktopia.com.au/ebooks/can-t-escape-love-alyssa-cole/prod9780062931887.html

Kirby:

Bark by Lorrie Moore: https://www.booktopia.com.au/bark-lorrie-moore/prod9780307740861.html

The Library Book by Susan Orlean: https://www.booktopia.com.au/the-library-book-susan-orlean/prod9781782392262.html

Spotify Guilty Pleasures playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/37i9dQZF1DX4pUKG1kS0Ac

Contact Us:

Twitter: @litcanonball

Instagram: @literarycanonball

Find us on Facebook at Literary Canon Ball

Email: literarycanonball@gmail.com