Episode 21: An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen

Introduction

literary canon ball episode 21 an uncertain grace krissy kneen.JPG

In episode 21, we discuss An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen.

Shortlisted for the 2018 Stella Prize, Krissy Kneen’s An Uncertain Grace is a novel told in five separate but linked parts.

Virtual storytelling, shared consciousness, gender fluidity, love and romance, jellyfish and rising oceans, An Uncertain Grace is novel that draws together elements of sci-fi and erotica and poses some big questions around gender and sex and the impact of climate change.

Show Notes:

The Stella Interview: Krissy Kneen on An Uncertain Grace: https://thestellaprize.com.au/2018/03/an-uncertain-grace/

An Uncertain Grace: https://thestellaprize.com.au/prize/2018-prize/an-uncertain-grace/

An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen: https://www.readings.com.au/review/an-uncertain-grace-by-krissy-kneen

A Fluctuating Charm: An Uncertain Grace: https://sydneyreviewofbooks.com/fluctuating-charm-uncertain-grace/

Krissy Kneen tackles morality and mortality in An Uncertain Grace: https://www.theaustralian.com.au/arts/review/krissy-kneen-tackles-morality-and-mortality-in-an-uncertain-grace/news-story/6b353b08a53ec9eacb8952d0f68cd265

An Uncertain Grace review: Krissy Kneen hits top form with sci-fi and erotica: https://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/books/an-uncertain-grace-review-krissy-kneen-hits-top-form-with-scifi-and-erotica-20170522-gwa7na.html

Krissy Kneen An Uncertain Grace: https://www.thesaturdaypaper.com.au/2017/03/31/uncertain-grace/14885460004287

Krissy Kneen: An Uncertain Grace: https://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/booksandarts/krissy-kneen-an-uncertain-grace/8442262

Recommendations:

Kirby:

The Dream podcast

Shirkers documentary

Neve:

‘The Woman Dies’ by Aoko Matsuda 

‘Robin DiAngelo, an agent of change’ by Leah Jing McIntosh

‘White fragility: Why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism’ by Robin DeAngelo 

Fi:

‘Normal People’ by Sally Rooney

‘The Gathering’ by Anne Enright

‘Traumata’ by Meera Atkinson

Contact Us:

Twitter: @litcanonball

Instagram: @literarycanonball

Find us on Facebook at Literary Canon Ball

Email: literarycanonball@gmail.com

Episode 20: 2018 Summer Special

Introduction

literary canon ball episode twenty 2018 summer special.jpg

In episode twenty, we’re doing something a little different. We don’t have just one book to discuss, we have a whole year of reading and books and reading related goals to reflect on. And, of course, we’ve got a bunch of stellar recommendations for you that should see you through those long lazy summer afternoons.

So, let’s talk books. We read a pretty interesting mix this year, from This One Summer, a graphic novel from Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki, to Clare Wrights The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka to N.K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season. Some scored the much revered two thumbs up and some, well, not so much.

So, what were our high points this year? Hit play and find out!

Show Notes:

Neve:

‘The Learning Curves of Vanessa Partridge’ by Clare Strahan: https://www.readings.com.au/products/25078427/the-learning-curves-of-vanessa-partridge

‘The Cruel Prince’ by Holly Black: https://www.booktopia.com.au/the-cruel-prince-holly-black/prod9780316310314.html

‘Princess in Theory’ by Alyssa Cole: https://www.booktopia.com.au/a-princess-in-theory-alyssa-cole/prod9780062685544.html

‘Hurts to Love You’ (and the rest of the Forbidden Hearts series) by Alisha Rai: https://www.booktopia.com.au/hurts-to-love-you-forbidden-hearts-alisha-rai/prod9780062566768.html

‘The Governess Game’ by Tessa Dare: https://www.booktopia.com.au/the-governess-game-tessa-dare/prod9780062672124.html

‘Duke by Default’ by Alyssa Cole: https://www.booktopia.com.au/a-duke-by-default-alyssa-cole/prod9780062685568.html

Kirby:

‘Wise Children’ By Angela Carter: https://www.readings.com.au/products/3008186/wise-children

‘Jane Eyre’ by Charlotte Bronte: https://www.booktopia.com.au/jane-eyre-charlotte-bronte/prod9781784870737.html

‘Ceremony’ by Leslie Marmon Silko: https://www.booktopia.com.au/ceremony-leslie-marmon-silko/prod9780143104919.html

‘The Fish Girl’ by Mirandi Riwoe: https://www.readings.com.au/products/24150061/the-fish-girl

‘Daughters of Passion’ by Julia O’Faolain: https://www.booktopia.com.au/daughters-of-passion-julia-o-faolain/prod9780571351947.html

Fi:

‘A Writing Life: Helen Garner and Her Work’ by Bernadette Brennan: https://www.readings.com.au/products/23163487/a-writing-life-helen-garner-and-her-work

‘How To Write An Autographical Novel’ By Alexander Chee: https://www.booktopia.com.au/how-to-write-an-autobiographical-novel-alexander-chee/prod9781328764522.html

‘The World Was Whole’ By Fiona Wright: https://www.booktopia.com.au/the-world-was-whole-fiona-wright/prod9781925336979.html

George Ezra & Friends Podcast: https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/george-ezra-friends/id1346610013?mt=2

‘The Wonder of Birds’ by Jim Robbins: https://www.readings.com.au/products/23913878/the-wonder-of-birds-what-they-tell-us-about-ourselves-the-world-and-a-better-future

Recommendations:

Fi:

The September Issue: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1331025/

The Bold Type: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6116060/

‘Insomniac City’ by Bill Hayes: https://www.booktopia.com.au/insomniac-city-bill-hayes/prod9781620404942.html

‘Notes to Self’ by Emilie Pine: https://www.readings.com.au/products/26408520/notes-to-self

Neve:

The Blak Brow

https://www.theliftedbrow.com/current-issue/

‘Circe’ by Madeline Miller

https://www.booktopia.com.au/ebooks/circe-madeline-miller/prod9781408890066.html

Kirby:

I Used To Be Normal: https://www.madmanfilms.com.au/i-used-to-be-normal-a-boyband-fangirl-story/

‘Bush Studies’ by Barbara Baynton: https://www.readings.com.au/products/15725703/bush-studies

‘Her Body and Other Parties’ by Carmen Maria Machado: https://www.booktopia.com.au/her-body-and-other-parties-carmen-maria-machado/prod9781555977887.html

Contact Us:

Twitter: @litcanonball

Instagram: @literarycanonball

Find us on Facebook at Literary Canon Ball

Email: literarycanonball@gmail.com

Episode 19: Blakwork by Alison Whittaker

IMG_8327.JPG

In episode 19, we discuss Alison Whittaker’s Blakwork.

A mix of memoir, reportage, fiction, satire, and critique, Alison Whittaker’s Blakwork is an original and unapologetic collection from which two things emerge; an incomprehensible loss, and the poet’s fearless examination of the present.

Whittaker, a Gomeroi multitasker from the floodplains of Gunnedah in NSW, has been published in the Sydney Review of Books, Seizure, Overland, Westerly, Griffith Review, the Lifted Brow, Meanjin and Archer, was the co-winner of the Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize in 2017 for her poem, 'Many Girls White Linen' and most recently, she was the Australian Indigenous Poet-In-Residence for the 2018 Queensland Poetry Festival.